When Knowledge Dawns, Pride Falls

I became blind, like an intoxicated elephant, when I acquired a little knowledge. My mind was overcome with pride and I thought I knew everything.

I realized how ignorant I really was when I began to learn more, little by little, from the truly wise; then, my pride subsided, like a fever.

(Transliteration: yadhA kinchignyOham dhvipa iva madhAnDHaha samabhavam / thadhA sarvgnyOsmIthyabhavadh avaliptham mama manaha / yadhA kinchith kinchith buDHajanasakAshAdh avagatham / thadhA mUrkhOsmIthi jvara iva madhO mE vyapagathaha)

Leave a Reply

